Dr. Dongwook Ko

Dr. Dongwook Ko

I am a landscape ecologist. My interest in the dynamics of plant distribution has brought me to Australia, for now. Currently I am a working on a spatial spread and population model of three invasive plants (para grass, gamba grass, and olive hymenachne) in the Northern Territory of Australia. In a practical sense, my current project is aiming for spatial management strategies that gives us the best bang for the buck in management money. Besides Dr. Yvonne Buckley, my other collaborators are Drs. Samantha Setterfield (Charles Darwin University), Keith Ferdinands (NT NRETA), Michael Douglas (TRaCK) and Aaron Petty.

My background is in forestry, landscape modelling, remote sensing, geography and dendroecology. In the past I worked in old-growth forests in the Jumbong mountain of Korea, quaking aspen stands in the Sierra Nevada (US), Ozark forests in the mid-west (US), and pinyon-juniper woodland and sagebrush of the central Nevada great  basin (US).

